Jackanory (1968) | Stories Told By Ian Hendry

Jackanory is a long-running BBC children’s television series that was designed to stimulate an interest in reading. The show was first transmitted on 13 December 1965, the first story being the fairy-tale Cap-o’-Rushes read by Lee Montague. Jackanory continued to be broadcast until 1996, clocking up around 3,500 episodes in its 30-year run. The final story, The House at Pooh Corner by A. A. Milne, was read by Alan Bennett and broadcast on 24 March 1996. The show returned on 27 November 2006 for two one-off stories.
The show’s format, which varied little over the decades, involved an actor reading from children’s novels or folk tales, usually while seated in an armchair. From time to time the scene being read would be illustrated by a specially commissioned still drawing, often by Quentin Blake. Usually a single book would occupy five daily fifteen-minute episodes, from Monday to Friday.

Th following list is when Ian Hendry was the story-teller.

Jackanory: Season 3, Episode 154
Hereward the Wake (4th March 1968)

Jackanory: Season 3, Episode 155
The Green Children (5th March 1968)

Jackanory: Season 3, Episode 156
Stone Horse Plantation (6th March 1968)

Jackanory: Season 3, Episode 157
Tom Tit-Tot (7th March 1968)

Jackanory: Season 3, Episode 158
The Pedlar of Swaffham (8th March 1968)

Ian Hendry

Directed by
Paul Ciani

Writing credits
Paul Ciani (adaptation)

Produced by
Anna Home …. Producer